Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » The Portfolio Table » My first chalkboard - thanks Rob!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: My first chalkboard - thanks Rob!
Suelynn Sedor
Visitor
Member # 442

Icon 14 posted      Profile for Suelynn Sedor   Email Suelynn Sedor   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
If I can get this image to load, you should see a pic of my first chalkboard.

Rob was kind enough to post a step-by-step for those of us interested in learning this medium. This is my first attempt, a practise board for a "fresh produce" sign I am going to do.

It took me a while to find the things I needed. I ended up using krylon chalboard spray on a piece of
sintra. I based in the veggies with ceramacoat acrylic paints and then sprayed with a matte acrylic laytex sealer. I didn't find any conte pencils as Rob suggested, so this is all done in soft chalks. I did one veggie at a time, working from the back and then spraying with clear so I wouldn't smudge them.

They did fade a little with each coat of spray, so I added highlights as I worked.

THANK YOU ROB!!!!! I'm so glad you took the time to share your skills with the rest of us here on the BB. [Big Grin]

[ March 02, 2002, 03:06 PM: Message edited by: Suelynn Sedor ]

--------------------
"It is never too late to be what you might have been."
-George Eliot

Suelynn Sedor
Sedor Signs
Carnduff, SK Canada

Posts: 2863 | From: Carnduff, SK Canada | Registered: Nov 1998  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
cheryl nordby
Visitor
Member # 1100

Icon 1 posted      Profile for cheryl nordby         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
WOW Suelynn! That is beautiful!