Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » The Portfolio Table » A Carpenter's Tool Chest - heirloom sort- OT maybe?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: A Carpenter's Tool Chest - heirloom sort- OT maybe?
Ian Stewart-Koster
Resident

Member # 3500

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Ian Stewart-Koster   Author's Homepage   Email Ian Stewart-Koster   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
HI Folks,
I've never done one of these before, but made it as a 40th birthday present for my brother-in-law who does a bit of handyman stuff & would like to get into a bit more of it.

I started with the lid, and sized it to suit a handsaw & a tenon saw.
The base was to take a 7" circular saw at one end & a drill &/or jigsaw under the sliding tray (or anything, really).
The end stop slots at the left are for wood chisels.
The holes in the back of the tray are for pencils or spade bits or whatever.

The timber was all old hoop pine from our kitchen, pulled out before we gyprocked (plastered) it, and the handles were a bit of silky oak from a tree we cut up years ago.

I designed a clamshell-shaped file the size of my palm, with grooves to suit my fingers, and cut them on the CNC router then hollowed underneath for your fingertips with a linisher.

The ornamental monogram (RDH) & chisels on the front were in some lovely hard spotted gum offcuts I had. (aided by the cnc router). They're rebated in; into a hand-routed 5/16" deep recess. The brass hinges were salvaged from old QR railway carriage doors from Wulkuraka, near Ipswich, back in about 1980-81.