Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard   
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Old Archives » First Sign.... Hummm

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: First Sign.... Hummm
Dave Kleinman
Visitor
Member # 4007

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Dave Kleinman         Edit/Delete Post 
I'm Dave (lurker and this board moves too fast for me....lol) I am going to Pasadena and went to Chapmans event in Temple. Usually I am painting Harley's for a living. But, I took on the job of painting a sign for this guy. Its gonna be 8'x 8' on a 30' pole. Any quick blurts or thoughts on how to improve this would be great. Sorry, I have a degree in physics. Not Advertising. But, a sign that has a killer theme is almost a land mark and draws people to it. I think his verbage is wrong and I want to put a skully on the bike that has Ice Pearl coming from his eyes. Is that a bad idea? Wondering if the "shock and awe" thing is not a good thing. But, I'd laugh at hearing "can you believe whats on that sign". It got noticed and I think that is point.

Again.... I'm sorry for asking basic help! But you gotta start somewhere.

DaveK

-

--------------------
Dave Kleinman
2406 Orleans Dr
Cedar Park, TX

Posts: 17 | From: Austin, TX | Registered: Jul 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Jillbeans
Resident

Member # 1912

Icon 12 posted      Profile for Jillbeans   Author's Homepage   Email Jillbeans   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Dave...
I am by NO MEANS an expert at signs. But here are a few quick thoughts:
*Think Negative Space. This is the space around the lettering. The copy needs room to breathe.
*Prioritize your copy. What is most important? Emphasize this.
*Follow the KISS principle (Keep It Simple, Stupid!)Wouldn't "For All Your Leather Needs" be sufficient?