Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard   
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Old Archives » Setting posts

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Setting posts
John Deaton
Visitor
Member # 925

Icon 5 posted      Profile for John Deaton   Author's Homepage   Email John Deaton   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have been installing signs for quite a few years now, and I have always used the same technique. Dig the holes, set the sign, mix up the concrete in a wheelbarrow, and pour it in the holes. This works good, but requires that I take a wheelbarrow, and other tools along to the site, along with the sign and posts, etc. I am wondering if one of you has a better way of either mixing the concrete, or another type of concrete that sets up on its own. I have tried the three part system of foam, but I dont care for it. I'm open to suggestions.

------------------
John Deaton III
Deaton Signs&Grafix
400 May St. Harlan, Ky. 40831 606-573-9101
"Grab an ol'cold tater and wait"
johnd3rd@kih.net
http://www.angelfire.com/ky2/dsigns

Posts: 4172 | From: Ages-Brookside, Ky. Up the Holler... | Registered: Jul 1999  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Michael Boone
Deceased

Member # 308

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Michael Boone     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I do not use concrete...for the sake of future removal.I dig the hole an extra foot or two deeper and after post is installed...I pack the hole with rocks using a heavy bar...
I have heard you can dump a bag of readymix in the hole..just dump it in there dry...ground moisture will set it..don't know for sure..never tried it but makes sense..

------------------
Michael Boone
Sign Painter
5828 Buerman Rd.Sodus,NY 14551
Ontime @localnet.com