Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » thinking of opening a storefront

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: thinking of opening a storefront
Dawud Shaheed
Visitor
Member # 5719

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Dawud Shaheed   Author's Homepage   Email Dawud Shaheed       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I've been working out of the back of my truck and out of a home workshop for years and have been pretty successful at it. When I started painting windshields almost 8 years ago I used to figure if I made $100 a day plus expenses it was ok for my needs. My business has expanded and some days I can make $500 to $1000 a day doing storefronts/lettering etc.

Not bad for a ex graffiti kid. Anyway,
Lately I'm thinking of opening a storefront and hiring someone to handle walk ins, do quotes, weed/apply vinyl while I go sling paint and work on projects as they come.
The downtown where I live is under a serious refurbishing and was a ghost town a few years ago. There are businesses popping up all throughout downtown and theres not a single sign shop in the whole downtown.
I'm thinking of doing it, but I need to know what I'm up against. Things like insurance,accounting, hiring employees, etc. etc.

THe way i've been running my business for the past 10 years or so has been somewhat primitave, like one man show, painting storefronts and making signs. I hardly keep records and I basically use my online banking to track my
finances for taxes.

As of now, my overhead is extremely low and I already said what I make per day (anywhere from $200 to $1000 a day, but closer to the low end most days when I average it out.)