Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard   
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Old Archives » any vinyl application tips?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: any vinyl application tips?
Ricky Simpson
Visitor
Member # 1318

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Ricky Simpson   Email Ricky Simpson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello to all,

I am just beginning to learn how to apply vinyl. I have done some small jobs with the dry technique and cant seem to eliminate the air bubbles.

I have a van to do Saturday that has some 8 inch letters with one line of copy about 6 feet in length. I plan to try the wet method to try to eliminate the air bubbles. Any suggestions?.....should I use the "center hinge" or "top hinge" method.

Remember I am a beginner so ANY and ALL advice is certainly appreciated.

The layout will have 4 lines of copy.It is a "basic" one color job. I will be using 24" material and I can cut the first 2 lines of the layout at one time.....wondering if I should cut and apply those two lines of copy at the same time? (second line of copy is about 6 feet long)......hinge at the top or middle?.....I think I should use the wet method because I am having trouble with the dry method. What ya think?

Once again ANY suggestions are GREATLY appreciated!!!!

Blessings,
Ricky

------------------
Ricky Simpson
Simpson Signs
South Central VA, USA
"railroader aspiring to be fulltime SignArtist."

Posts: 246 | From: VA | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dave Grundy
Resident

Member # 103

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Dave Grundy   Author's Homepage   Email Dave Grundy   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post