Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » Adding flourishes to letters

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Adding flourishes to letters
Brad Ferguson
Resident

Member # 33

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Brad Ferguson   Email Brad Ferguson       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
One of the more fascinating features of Inkscape is the ability to modify letters relatively easily compared to other vector based drawing programs.

The flourishes I put on these script letters did not take terribly long even though I am a novice at Inkscape. It's true that these effects can be done in other programs, with bezier tools, for example. But it's slow, at least it is for me. And the results are not always graceful.

These examples are not perfect, obviously. But they could be.
Inkscape does this with a feature called SPIRO SPLINE in its path effects editor that allows you to make smooth curves almost effortlessly. With practice, a person could become very good at modifying individual letters quickly.

A lettering artist with a long-haired brush will always have an edge on doing stuff like this, in my opinion. Still, the spiro spline feature is one of the things I like about Inkscape. And, of course, I can output flourishes like this to a router or an engraver just as easily as to a vinyl cutter.

The original unmodified letters are in green. The font is called Dancing Script.

-

Brad in Kansas City

signbrad.com

--------------------
Brad Ferguson
See More Signs
7931 Wornall Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
signbrad@yahoo.com
816-739-7316

Posts: 1230 | From: Kansas City, MO, USA | Registered: Nov 1998  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dan Sawatzky