Phone: 519-787-2892
Fax: 519-787-2673
Email: barb@letterville.com

Copyright ©1995-2008
The Letterhead Website

The Letterville BullBoard Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile login | search | faq | calendar | im | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Letterville BullBoard » Letterhead/Pinstriper Talk » Anyone here Kayak?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Anyone here Kayak?
Janette Balogh
Resident

Member # 192

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Janette Balogh   Author's Homepage   Email Janette Balogh   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm going Kayak shopping today.
I'm a newbie.

Anyone got some advice or feedback for me?
Any kayaking adventure stories you wanna share?

Enlighten me. Encourage me. Educate me.

Thanks!
Nettie

--------------------
"When Love and Skill Work Together ... Expect a Masterpiece"

Janette Balogh
Creative Studio

janette@janettebalogh.com
www.janettebalogh.com

Posts: 5092 | From: Florida | Registered: Nov 1998  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Dusty Campbell
Visitor
Member # 4601

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Dusty Campbell   Email Dusty Campbell       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
We've got a place here that rents boats to float down several miles of river that's pretty tame. They offer kayaks, keowes(sp?), and canoes. The keowe is wider and shorter and easier to keep upright than the kayak. They sell off some at the end of the season at pretty low prices. I'm no pro, more of a beer drinker and layabout on the river. I had to question my state of relaxation when I noticed there were some birds circling above me looking pretty hungry. Lots of turtles, snakes, some deer and other wildlife and the occasional local nudist to keep things interesting. Be careful when you're under low hanging limbs, as that's where the snakes and wasps seem to hang out.

-Dusty

--------------------
Industrious